KP Oli sworn in as Nepal PM for second time

1Khadga Prasad Sharma Oli sworn in as Nepal’s 41st Prime Minister for the second time on February 15.

The oath of office and secrecy was administered by President Bidya Devi Bhandari to 65-year-old Oli and two other ministers who are both from the CPN-UML, at a function held at President’s Office, Shital Niwas, in Maharajgunj.

Oli in October 2017 engineered a surprise left alliance that brought him an election victory, as per reports.

 The CPN-UML secured 121 seats in the 275-member Parliament to become the largest party. The Nepali Congress has 63 seats while the CPN-Maoist Centre secured 53 seats, as per media reports.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi too congratulated K P Sharma Oli on being sworn in as Nepal’s prime minister, officials said here.