India elected unopposed to non-permanent seat of UNSC

India was elected as non-permanent member of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a two-year term on Wednesday.

India won 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly.

India’s Permanent Mission to the UN tweeted: “Member States elect India to the non-permanent seat of the Security Council for the term 2021-22 with overwhelming support. India gets 184 out of the 192 valid votes polled.”

Besides India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the UNSC elections held on Wednesday.

India’s Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador T S Tirumurti in a video message said, “I am truly delighted that India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for 2021-22. We have received overwhelming support and I’m deeply humbled by the tremendous confidence which the member states of the United Nations have reposed in India.”

External Affairs Minister Dr S. Jaishankar in a tweet said, “Congrats for your good work Team @IndiaUNNewYork and #TeamMEA.”

India will sit in the powerful UN body from January 1, 2021.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, “Deeply grateful for the overwhelming support shown by the global community for India’s membership of the @UN Security Council. India will work with all member countries to promote global peace, security, resilience and equity.”