Delhi, 4 other Northern states agree to fix uniform tax rate on fuels

Punjab, Haryana, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh on September 25 agreed to move towards uniform tax rates on petroleum products, amid rising fuel prices. All the states and a Union territory are ruled by three different parties, including the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

In addition, the five states also agreed to bring uniformity in taxes on liquor and registration of vehicles and transport permit, official release said.

With the initiatives of Captain Abhimanyu, Haryana Finance and Excise and Taxation minister, the finance ministers of five states and officials of Chandigarh organized a meeting to deliberate on fixing uniform rate of taxes on petrol and diesel.

“It was agreed during the meeting to bring uniformity on the tax rates of petrol and diesel,” official release said.

While addressing the media following the meeting Captain Abhimanyu said, “The Finance Ministers and officials of Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Union Territory of Chandigarh, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi attended this meeting.”

Release further said, the participating states also decided to constitute a sub-committee, which would give their recommendation with regard to uniformity in tax rates and send the report to their respective state governments in next fifteen days.