PM Modi lauds Amit Shah after Citizenship (Amendment) Bill passed in Lok Sabha

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on Tuesday delighted that the Lok Sabha had passed the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019. He also lauded Home Minister Amit Shah’s efforts in the same.

“Delighted that the Lok Sabha has passed the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 after a rich and extensive debate. I thank the various MPs and parties that supported the Bill. This Bill is in line with India’s centuries old ethos of assimilation and belief in humanitarian values,” PM Modi said in a tweet.

“I would like to specially applaud Home Minister @AmitShah Ji for lucidly explaining all aspects of the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019. He also gave elaborate answers to the various points raised by respective MPs during the discussion in the Lok Sabha,” PM Modi added.

In reply Amit Shah thanked PM Modi and said, “You are an inspiration and under your leadership we all strive harder each day to build a #NewIndia for our future generations.”

Shah also extended his gratitude to PM Modi for making the historic Citizenship Amendment Bill a reality.

“I extend my gratitude to PM @narendramodi for making the historic Citizenship Amendment Bill a reality, that will allow India to open its doors to minorities from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan who are facing religious persecution. I thank everyone who supported this bill,” Shah added.

“It is well known that those minorities who chose to make Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan their home had to constantly live in the fear of extinction. This amended legislation by Modi govt will allow India to extend them dignity and an opportunity to rebuild their lives,” the home minister added.

On Monday, the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2019 was passed in Lok Sabha with 311 votes in favour.

The Bill seeks to grant Indian Citizenship to persons belonging to Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities who have migrated to India after facing persecution on grounds of religion in Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, if they fulfil conditions for grant of citizenship.