Rajasthan Assembly session: Ashok Gehlot’s trust vote to counter BJP’s no-confidence motion

The Ashok Gehlot-led government will move a confidence motion in the special assembly session starting from today. 

The decision was announced yesterday at the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting chaired by Gehlot, which was attended by his former deputy Sachin Pilot among others.

The meeting was held in a very cordial manner in which discussions were held on moving the confidence motion in the Rajasthan assembly.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has already decided to move a no-confidence motion against the Ashok Gehlot government.

Six MLAs who shifted from Mayawati’s party to the Congress in Rajasthan have been asked to vote against the Ashok Gehlot government during the trust vote.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has issued a whip to its MLAs, asking them to vote against Congress in a non-confidence motion.

On Thursday, the Congress revoked the suspension of Bhanwarlal Sharma and Vishvendra Singh, two MLAs who had rebelled against the Ashok Gehlot government. They were suspended from the party’s primary membership last month over their alleged involvement in a “conspiracy” to topple the government in the state.

Sachin Pilot was removed as deputy CM and expelled from party posts after he and 18 MLAs skipped Congress Legislative Party (CLP) meetings last month.