Congress releases eighth list of candidates; Mallikarjun Kharge to contest from Gulbarga, Digvijay Singh from Bhopal

The Congress on late Saturday night released its eighth list of 38 candidates for the Lok Sabha polls with its leader in Lok Sabha, Mallikarjun Kharge contesting from Karnataka’s Gulbarga. The party has nominated former Maharashtra chief minister Ashok Chavan to fight the polls from Nanded.

The list contains party candidates from the states of Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh.

Former Madhya Pradesh chief minister and Senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh will contest from Bhopal Lok Sabha seat.

Congress has fielded former Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat from Nainital constituency.

Meenakshi Natarajan, a close aide of Congress chief Rahul Gandhi, has been fielded from Mandsaur constituency in Madhya Pradesh, while former party spokesperson Rashid Alvi will contest from Amroha in Uttar Pradesh.

As of now, the Congress has announced the names of 218 candidates for the elections to the 543-member Lok Sabha which will be held in seven phases.