PM Narendra Modi elected as leader of NDA

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday was unanimously elected as the leader of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at a meeting attended by its newly elected MPs and senior leaders in the Central Hall of Parliament.

Senior BJP leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi were also present at the NDA parliamentary meeting.

“Modi is unanimously elected as the leader of the parliamentary party of 353 MPs,” BJP president Amit Shah announced.

Top alliance leaders including SAD’s Parkash Singh Badal, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray and BJP leaders Sushma Swaraj and Nitin Gadkari greeted Narendra Modi after he was elected as the leader of NDA and BJP.

The BJP won 303 seats out of 542 in Lok Sabha Elections and the Congress faced an epic failure with just 52.

On Friday, Modi called on President Ram Nath Kovind and tendered his resignation along with the Council of Ministers. 

President Kovind accepted the resignation and requested Modi and the council of ministers to continue until the new government assumes office.