Parliament’s Budget Session begins today; Opposition parties to boycott President’s address

President Ram Nath Kovind will address members of both Houses of Parliament on Friday ahead of the commencement of the 2021 Budget Session. 

As many as 18 opposition parties including Shiromani Akali Dal, AAP and 16 led by Congress on Thursday said that they will boycott the President’s address to both Houses of Parliament over farm laws.

16 parties-Congress NCP, Shiv Sena, AITC, DMK, JKNC, SP, RJD, CPI(M),  CPI, IUML, RSP, PDP, MDMK, Kerala Congress and AIUDF issued a joint statement announcing their decision.

Congress took to Twitter and announced the decision of boycotting the President’s address to Parliament in solidarity with the farmers.

“The Congress party & 15 other Opposition parties have decided to boycott the President’s address to Parliament on 29th Jan 2021 in solidarity with the farmers of India,” the Party tweeted.

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) senior leaders in a statement said, “The party will boycott President’s address to Parliament to protest against the Centre which is bent on implementing the Agri Acts.”

“Being a party of farmers, Shiromani Akali Dal has always stood up for the farming community’s cause. Since the Centre is unmoved by the suffering of community agitating since months against Agri Acts, hence, we are boycotting President’s address,” said Akali leaders.