National Film Awards: Suriya, Ajay Devgn bag Best Actor award

The 68th National Film Awards were held on Friday afternoon and Suriya’s Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn’s Tanhaji- The Unsung Warrior earn the biggest accolades. The winners of the reputed awards were announced by jury member Choreographer Dharam Gulati, and Ajay Devgn and Suriya have been awarded the Best Actor for Tanhaji and Soorarai Pottru respectively.

Talking about other awards, Best Feature Film (Hindi) went to Ashutosh Govarikar-backed Toolsidas Juinor. Whereas, Ajay Devgn’s Tanhaji- The Unsung Warrior won Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. Aparna Balamurali won the Best Actress award for showcasing her impressive acting chops in Suriya’s Soorarai Pottru. Suriya’s 2020 Tamil film Soorarai Pottru also bagged awards in the categories of Best Screenplay (Sudha Kongara) and Best Music Director (GV Prakash), Best Direction (Sudha Kongara), Best Production (2D Production).

Award for the best film providing wholesome entertainment goes to Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior, directed by Om

Malayalam thriller Ayyappanum Koshiyum won two major awards. Director K R Sachidanandan, known professionally as Sachy, won Best Director posthumously, and Biju Menon won Best Supporting Actor. In 2020, Sachy died of cardiac arrest at the age of 47. Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli won Best Supporting Actress for her act in Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengalum. The film has also won Best Tamil Film and Best Editing.