Major reshuffle in Congress: Sonia Gandhi reconstitutes CWC; drops Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ambika Soni as general secretaries

The Congress party has undergone a major reshuffle following the recent upsurge. Congress President Sonia Gandhi has formed a new Congress Working Committee and new appointments have also been made to the post of General Secretaries. Both Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi have been included in the new CWC. Rahul Gandhi’s supporters have also found a place in many committees, indicating that Rahul has been given considerable importance in the party. Priyanka Gandhi has been given full charge of Uttar Pradesh.

The new CWC has 22 members, while the new AICC has 26 members and 10 special invitees, including Digvijay Singh. Leaders like Ghulam Nabi Azad, Motilal Vora, Ambika Soni, Mallikarjun Kharge have been removed from the post of General Secretary although, except Vora, others are included in the CWC.

AK Antony, Ahmed Patel and Ambika Soni are included in the special committee formed by Congress President Sonia Gandhi to help her run the organization. KC Venugopal, Mukul Wasnik, Randeep Surjewala are also included in the special committee to assist Congress President Sonia Gandhi in matters related to the organization.

Harish Rawat has been appointed general secretary in-charge of Punjab Congress while Mukul Wasnik has been appointed in-charge of Madhya Pradesh, Rajiv Shukla in Himachal Pradesh, Jitin Prasad in West Bengal & Andaman Nicobar.

Apart from this, Congress national spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala has been given the responsibility of Karnataka while Vivek Bansal has been made in charge of Haryana.

In this reshuffle of the Congress, the stature of 23 leaders who recently wrote letters has been reduced. While Ghulam Nabi Azad has got a place in CWC, he has been removed from the post of general secretary in-charge of Haryana. Azad has also not been included in the advisory committee set up for Sonia Gandhi. Like Azad, Anand Sharma and Kapil Sibal’s stature has been reduced.

Rahul Gandhi still stands tall in the Congress Working Committee. He is ranked third after Sonia Gandhi and Manmohan Singh. Apart from Rahul Gandhi’s trusted Madhusudan Mistry, Arvinder Singh Lovely has also grown in stature. Madhusudan Mistry has been made the chairman of the Central Election Committee.

KC Venugopal has been given the responsibility of the organization. 

Among the Congress general secretaries, Oman Chandy has been given the responsibility of Andhra Pradesh, Tareek Anwar has been given the responsibility of Kerala & Lakshadweep, Jitendra Singh has been given the responsibility of Assam and Ajay Maken has been given the responsibility of Rajasthan.

Digvijay Singh, Rajiv Shukla, Manikam Tagore, Pramod Tiwari, Jairam Ramesh, HK Patil, Salman Khurshid, Pawan Bansal, Dinesh Kunduro, Manish Chatrath and Kuljit Nagra have been included as the new CWC members. Now the Secretary-in-charge of the Congress Administration will be Pawan Kumar Bansal.

This major reshuffle has a major significance before the Parliament session.