Maharashtra: Uddhav Thackeray government to face floor test today

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi (MAV) government of the Shiv Sena- Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)–Congress alliance will face a floor test in the Assembly today.

Uddhav Thackeray assumed charge as the Maharashtra chief minister on Friday.

Thackeray, who is heading a Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress coalition took oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra on Thursday at Shivaji Park in Mumbai in a sprawling ceremony attended by Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath, DMK chief MK Stalin, MNS Chief Raj Thackeray, Chairman of Reliance industries Mukesh Ambani among other top politicians and industrialists from Maharashtra and rest of India.

Apart from Uddhav Thackeray, six other ministers – two each from Shiv Sena, Congress and the NCP – also took oath on Thursday.

Uddhav Thackeray held a cabinet meeting after swearing in as chief minister where his government announced to sanction Rs 20 crore for the development of Raigad.

On Tuesday, Fadnavis resigned shortly after Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Ajit Pawar quit as his deputy.

The resignations came after the Supreme Court ordered an immediate floor test, to be telecast live, so that BJP’s Fadnavis could prove his majority in the assembly.

The BJP-led government fell within four days of being sworn in on Saturday.

The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress formed the government after the Shiv Sena fell out with ally BJP over sharing the chief ministerial post.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party, winning 105 seats. The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress won 56, 54 and 44 seats, respectively, in the recently concluded Assembly elections.