Maharashtra government formation: Shiv Sena Chief Minister for full five years, says Sanjay Raut

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut on Friday said that Maharashtra will have a Shiv Sena Chief Minister for a full term of five years. 

While speaking to reporters, Raut said that his party will get the Chief Minister’s post for a full five-year term.

“The time for offers has ended,” Raut said in response to a question on reports that BJP had agreed to share the Chief Minister’s post with Sena.

“Shiv Sena will not side with the BJP, even if offered ‘Lord Indra’s throne’, he added.

He further said, “People of Maharashtra want Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray to become the Chief Minister.”

Asked if the Sena, Congress and NCP would meet the state governor, Raut said, “Why meet the governor when the President’s rule is in place”

The BJP and Sena, which fought the assembly elections in Maharashtra together, fell out over the chief minister’s post.

On November 12, Maharashtra came under President’s rule after all the parties failed to form a government in the state.

BJP, the single largest party, could not stake claim to form a government as its ally Shiv Sena remained firm over sharing of the chief minister’s post since the assembly election results were announced on October 24.

The BJP had emerged as the single-largest party with 105 seats in the 288-member Assembly. The Shiv Sena at 56, the NCP 54 and the Congress won 44 seats.