Karnataka Election Results : Governor Invites BJP To Form Govt, BS Yeddyurappa To Be Sworn As Next CM

Karnataka Governor Valubhai Vala has invited BS Yeddyurappa of BJP to form the government first. Governor Vala gives Yeddyurappa fifteen days to prove his majority in a floor test. The Governor took the decision after consulting with former Attorney General Mukul Rohtagi, who favoured inviting the single largest party first, in this case the BJP with 104 MLAs. The JDS-Congress combine has 117 MLAs, more than the magic mark of 112. Congress has previously said that it would move the Supreme Court if denied the chance to form the government first.


Congress held a press conference with P Chidambaram, Kapil Sibal and other senior leaders at the party headquarters in Delhi.

Senior Congress leader P Chidambaram speaking to the reporters said, “Despite Congress and JDS having the numbers, we heard that the Governor may have invited the BJP to form the government. The two parties gave the governor a list of names of the MLAs, which proves a majority.”

“We sincerely hope that there will not be another outrage on the Constitution. Law cannot change according to the foot of the Chancellor,” What is standing in way of the Governor from extending invitation to leader of the alliance (HD Kumaraswamy), who clearly demonstrated that he commands the support of the majority? Chidambaram added.

Congress leader Kapil Sibal addressing the conference said, “Why is a minority party who doesn’t have the numbers on their side, being called to form the government? How is this legal? Now when they swear-in, we all know what people would do to get numbers in their favour. We have seen it in Goa and other states. The Governor should never get into such complications.”

Meanwhile, BS Yeddyurappa will be sworn in as the new Karnataka Chief Minister at 9.30 am on Thursday at Raj Bhavan.

BJP leader Murlidhar Rao in the press conference said, “Tomorrow BS Yeddyurappa will be taking oath (as CM of Karnataka) alone, after proving majority cabinet will be sworn in.”

BJP Karnataka