Voting begins for phase 2 Lok Sabha Polls

Polling began on Thursday morning for 95 Lok Sabha seats spread across 11 states in the second phase of the 2019 general elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to his Twitter account and urged voters to exercise their right to vote.

“Dear Citizens of India, Phase 2 of the Lok Sabha polls start today. I am sure all those whose seats are polling today will strengthen our democracy by exercising their franchise. I hope more youngsters head to the polling booths and vote!” Modi tweeted.

The Congress party also tweeted, “Your vote is not only your right, it is your power. Use your power for change & vote for the party that represents unity, justice & equality.”

The second phase of Lok Sabha polls will cover Jammu and Kashmir, Assam, Bihar, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Union Territory Puducherry.

Approximately 15.8 crore voters are eligible to vote in the Phase 2 of the Lok Sabha election.

The Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven-phases – April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19, and the counting of votes will be on May 23.