Jharkhand assembly elections to be held in 5 phases starting November 30: Election Commission

The Election Commission (EC) on Friday announced that Assembly elections in Jharkhand will be held in five phases, beginning November 30, and the counting of votes will take place on December 23.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora made the announcement at a press briefing.

The five-year term of the state Assembly expires in January 2020, he said.

In phase 1, 13 assembly constituencies will go to voting on November 30, while 20 seats will vote in the second phase. On December 12, third phase of Jharkhand elections will see polling in 17 seats and 15 assembly constituencies will vote in phase 4 while the remaining 16 seats will vote in the last phase on December 20.