Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh to be separate Union Territories, says Amit Shah in Parliament

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday tabled a draft resolution in Parliament seeking creation of union territory of Ladakh.

The government has decided to bifurcate Jammu and Kashmir into two Union territories – Jammu and Kashmir which will have a separate legislature, and Ladakh.

“Kashmir and Jammu division will be separate Union Territory with legislature,” Shah announced in Rajya Sabha.

Earlier, Shah proposed to remove Article 370 that gives special status to Jammu and Kashmir.

Former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti took to her twitter account and tweeted, “Today marks the darkest day in Indian democracy. Decision of J&K leadership to reject 2 nation theory in 1947 & align with India has backfired. Unilateral decision of GOI to scrap Article 370 is illegal & unconstitutional which will make India an occupational force in J&K.”

“People like us who placed faith in Parliament, the temple of democracy have been deceived. Those elements in J&K who rejected the constitution & sought resolution under the UN have been vindicated. This will exacerbate the alienation Kashmiris feel,” she added.