Imran Khan takes oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Cricketer turned politician and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan on Saturday took oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan after his party won the highest number of seats in the general election.

The swearing-in ceremony was administered by Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain.

PTI chief Khan was accompanied by his wife Bushra Bibi.

The ceremony was attended by former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, legendary paceman Wasim Akram, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Zubair Mahmood Hayat, actor Javed Sheikh, singers Salman Ahmed and Abrarul Haq, Punjab Assembly speaker Pervez Elahi, Rameez Raja, caretaker minister Nasir-ul-Mulk, Army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chief of Air Staff Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan and PTI leaders.

Khan’s party PTI bagged 176 seats while the opponent Sharif’s PML-N received 96 seats.