Hockey: India, Pakistan declared joint winners of Asian Champions Trophy 2018

India and Pakistan were on Sunday declared as the joint winners of the fifth Asian Champions Trophy 2018 hockey tournament at the Sultan Qaboos Sports Complex in Muscat after the final was abandoned due to bad weather conditions.

India remained unbeaten in the tournament having topped the round robin stages with 13 points. However, Pakistan ended the round robin stages on the second spot with 10 points.

Earlier India had defeated Pakistan 3-1 in the round robin stage.

However, the weather conditions played spoilsport as heavy rainfall made it difficult for both the teams to start the Final at Muscat.

Hockey India tweeted, “India and Pakistan have been declared as joint winners of the Hero Asian Champions Trophy 2018 due to the Final being forfeited.”

“The Indian Men’s Hockey Team will share the trophy of the Hero Asian Champions Trophy 2018 with Pakistan after the Final of the tournament was forfeited due to adverse weather conditions on 28th October,” Hockey India added.

India maintained their unbeaten streak in the competition. They had reached the final by outclassing Japan 3-2.

The Indian team were also the highest scoring team in the competition by scoring a total of 30 goals in six matches.