Delhi Assembly polls: BJP releases first list of 57 candidates

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its first list of 57 candidates for the upcoming Delhi Assembly Elections.

Delhi BJP president Manoj Tiwari made the announcement at a press briefing in New Delhi.

Out of the 57 names, 11 are from Scheduled Caste (SC) community, while four are women. The remaining 13 candidates will be announced later, Tiwari said.

Among the prominent names in the list of candidates are Vijender Gupta from Rohini, Kapil Mishra from Model Town

The Congress is also likely to release its list of candidates later in the day.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Tuesday released the list of 70 candidates for Delhi Assembly polls.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will contest again from New Delhi and his Deputy Manish Sisodia to contest from Patparganj.

Voting for the 70 Assembly seats in Delhi will take place on February 8 and the counting of votes is scheduled on February 11.