Congress, DMK seal alliance

The Congress and the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Wednesday evening sealed a seat-sharing deal for the Lok Sabha elections, a day after the AIADMK and the BJP finalised their alliance.

DMK president MK Stalin said the Congress will contest from nine out of 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu and one seat in Puducherry.

Stalin while addressing a press meet said that the total number of seats that DMK will be contesting will be finalised after talks with other alliance partners in the state.

In 2014 elections, the AIADMK had won 37 of the seats in Tamil Nadu. Of the other two, one went to the BJP.  Both DMK and the Congress contesting as allies failed to win any Lok Sabha seat.