Akhilesh, Mayawati seal seat-sharing deal in UP; SP to contest 37 seats, BSP 38

The Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Thursday shared the final frame of the seat in Uttar Pradesh for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. The SP will contest 37 seats and the BSP 38 seats in the 80-seat Assembly.

As promised by the supremo of both the parties the seats of Amethi and Rae Bareli, represented by Congress president Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi have been left untouched.

While Congress chief Rahul Gandhi had announced that Congress will contest in all the 80 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

Earlier, while announcing the alliance, the two parties had said that they will contest from 38 constituencies each out of the 80 in the state.