Trinamool Congress MPs Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty take oath as Lok Sabha members

Newly elected Trinamool Congress (TMC) MPs Nusrat Jahan Ruhi and Mimi Chakraborty on Tuesday took oath as members of 17th Lok Sabha.

The two could not take oath earlier as they were in Turkey for Nusrat Jahan’s wedding, reports said.

The two actors-turned-politicians took oath in Bangla, ending it with ‘Vande Mataram’, ‘Jai Hindi’ and ‘Jai Bangla’.

Nusrat Jahan was elected from Basirhat and Mimi Chakraborty from Jadavpur in West Bengal.

Mimi Chakraborty took to her twitter account and tweeted, “Life time experience Thank you @MamataOfficial and all my voters from #Jadavpur constituency.”