Sheila Dikshit appointed as Delhi Congress President, Kuldeep Singh Rathore as Himachal Pradesh Congress chief

The three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit was appointed as the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president on Thursday, days after Ajay Maken resigned from the post citing ill-health. 

P C Chacko, All India Congress Committee (AICC) in-charge of Delhi unit made the announcement and said Dikshit would be assisted by three working presidents — Devender Yadav, Haroon Yusuf and Rajesh Lilotia. 

Maken congratulated Dikshit on being appointed as president of Delhi Congress.

He said, “Congratulations and well wishes to Sheila Dikshit on being appointed as president of Delhi Congress. I had the opportunity to work and learn under her as a parliamentary secretary and as a cabinet minister. I believe under her leadership we will play the role of a powerful opposition against Modi+Kejriwal governments.”

Punjab Chief Minister Capt. Amarinder Singh Congratulated Dikshit on her appointment as Delhi Congress President.

“Congratulations to @SheilaDikshit Ji on her appointment as President of @INCDelhi. Delhiites still remember the consistent development that happened during her tenure. I’m sure under her dynamic leadership & guidance, @INCIndia will make a comeback in Delhi! Best wishes to her,” Amarinder tweeted.

In another appointment by Congress, Senior Congress leader Kuldeep Singh Rathore was appointed as the president of the party’s Himachal Pradesh unit, replacing Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu.

Rahul Gandhi cleared his appointment as the party prepares for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Rathore is a member of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) and former general secretary and the chief spokesman of the party’s state unit.