President Kovind nominates four to Rajya Sabha

President Ram Nath Kovind

RSS ideologue Rakesh Sinha, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh, Former MP Ram Shakal,  and stone artist Raghunath Mohapatra were nominated to the Rajya Sabha on Saturday.

According to the PMO (Prime Minister’s Office),  the nominations were made by President Ram Nath Kovind on the advice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi

RSS ideologue Sinha is the honorary director and founder of the Delhi-based think-tank India Policy Foundation.

A member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR) and a professor at Motilal Nehru College of Delhi University.

Sonal Mansingh is among India’s leading proponents of Indian classical dance.

She has been performing Bharatnatyam and Odissi from decades. She is also a well-known choreographer, teacher, orator and social activist.

In the year 1977, Mansingh had found the Centre for Indian Classical Dances in Delhi.

Ram Shakal who is from Uttar Pradesh, a renowned people’s leader and a public representative, he has spent his entire life for the welfare and well-being of the Dalit community, also three-time member of the Lok Sabha, representing the Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Raghunath Mohapatra is an internationally famous expert on stone carving and has been practicing since 1959. His contribution towards the maintenance of traditional sculpture and ancient monuments is outstanding and around 2000 students were trained by him.

His well-known works include a 6-feet-high statue of the Sun God carved in grey sandstone, in the Central Hall of Parliament; and the Wooden Buddha, Buddha Temple, Paris.

According to the Article 80(1)(a) of the Constitution provides that the president can nominate 12 persons to the Rajya Sabha, having special knowledge, or practical experience in respect of art, literature, science, and social service.