Pramod Sawant to be next Goa Chief Minister

Pramod Sawant, the Goa Assembly’s Speaker is set to be the next chief minister of the coastal state after Manohar Parrikar’s death on Sunday, sources said.

Goa Forward Party’s Vijay Sardesai and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party’s (MGP) Sudhin Dhavalikar will be deputy Chief Ministers, sources added.

Both had initially demanded the chief minister’s position.

Sudhin Dhavalikar had earlier said that he has sacrificed many times by supporting the BJP and now he has put in his demand.

Vijay Sardesai was also seeing himself as a candidate for the top job.

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, who arrived in Goa soon after Parrikar’s death on Sunday evening held meetings with allies till early morning but not reached any conclusion.

A delegation of Goa Congress today met Governor Mridula Sinha at the Raj Bhavan to stake claim to form the government.

All the 14 Congress MLAs led by Leader of the Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar went to Raj Bhawan and handed over a letter to Mridula Sinha.