Maharashtra: Uddhav Thackeray takes oath as Chief Minister

Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray on Thursday took oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra at Shivaji Park in Mumbai in a sprawling ceremony attended by Madhya Pradesh CM Kamal Nath, DMK chief MK Stalin, MNS Chief Raj Thackeray, Chairman of Reliance industries Mukesh Ambani among other top politicians and industrialists from Maharashtra and rest of India.

From Shiv Sena Eknath Shinde and Subhash desai also took oath of office.

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Chhagan Bhujbal took oath of office along with Jayant Patil.

From Congress Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut took oath of office.

After taking oath, Uddhav became the first member from the Thackeray family to assume the chief minister’s post.

Earlier today, the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance released the common minimum programme.

Two days after Devendra Fadnavis resignation from the post of Chief Minister, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray took oath at Mumbai’s Shivaji Park as Chief Minister of Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress government.

The important occasion came after weeks of tug of war and political twists and turns over government formation in the state. It saw the Sena and its ally BJP breaking their long ties over the chief minister’s post, followed by the coming together of the Sena, NCP and the Congress.

On Tuesday, Devendra Fadnavis resigned shortly after Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Ajit Pawar quit as his deputy.

The resignations came after the Supreme Court ordered an immediate floor test, to be telecast live, so that BJP’s Fadnavis could prove his majority in the assembly.

The BJP-led government fell within four days of being sworn in on Saturday.