Madhya Pradesh Cabinet Expansion: 28 new ministers take oath

The Madhya Pradesh government headed by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan saw a cabinet expansion on Thursday, months after dethroning the Congress’s Kamal Nath government.

A total of 28 ministers were inducted into the government including BJP’s Yashodhara Raje Scindia and Gopal Bhargava.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office and secretary at the Raj Bhavan.

The Chief Minister tweeted a message today morning, “Hearty congratulations to all my colleagues who took the oath of office today. We will all work together to achieve the goals of development and public welfare in Madhya Pradesh.”

The cabinet expansion had been due for over three months, when the Congress lost power to the BJP after 22 rebels quit along with Jyotiraditya Scindia.