Lok Sabha Elections: Polling begins for Phase one

Polling began on Thursday morning in 91 out of 543 constituencies spread over 20 states and UTs in the first phase of Lok Sabha Elections.

Polling in all the Lok Sabha constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, Nagaland, Sikkim, Andaman and Nicobar, and Lakshadweep is being held.

Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar, Assam, Odisha, Jammu and Kashmir, West Bengal and Chhattisgarh are also going to polls.

The seven-phase voting for Lok Sabha elections has begun today till May 19 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged young and first-time voters to vote in large numbers.

“2019 Lok Sabha elections commence today. I call upon all those whose constituencies are voting in the first phase today to turn out in record numbers and exercise their franchise. I specially urge young and first-time voters to vote in large numbers,” Modi tweeted.