Karnataka bypolls: Counting of votes begins

Counting of Votes has begun on Monday for bypolls to 15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka.

Counting began at 8 am and results are expected by the evening.

The BJP needs six more seats to retain its majority in the 225-member assembly. The BJP currently has 105 MLAs (including an independent).

The rebel MLAs joined the BJP last month, after the Apex Court allowed them to contest the bypolls.

An estimated 67.9 per cent polling was recorded in Karnataka’s bypolls on Thursday.

The elections were held to fill the vacancies caused by the resignation and disqualification of the 17 Congress and JD-S rebels in July.