Karnataka bypoll updates: Congress- JD(S) alliance wins 2 assembly seats, counting underway

The counting for Karnataka bypoll is underway. The Congress-Janata Dal Secular JD(S) alliance has won two assembly seats and is leading in two Lok Sabha seats.

Following a win in two assembly seats, senior Congress leader Dinesh Gundu Rao while addressing a press conference said, “Bypoll results will send a message to the entire country that the time for change has come,”


The ruling alliance has won the assembly constituencies of Jamkhandi and Ramanagara.

JDS supporters have begun celebrations in Ramanagra constituency where Anitha Ramaswamy emerged victorious by a margin of 1.09 lakh votes.

Anand Siddu Nyamagouda of the Congress has won the Jamkhandi assembly constituency, defeating his BJP rival by a margin of 39,480 votes.

In the Mandya Lok Sabha seat, JD(S) candidate LR Shivramegowda is heading for a landslide victory.

BJP’s Raghavendra is leading by 47,388 votes over his JD(S) rival Madhu Bangarappa in the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat.  

According to reports JD(S) LR Shivaramegowda leads over BJP’s Dr. Siddaramaiah by 196883 votes in Mandya Lok Sabha seat after counting of votes in Round 10.

In Ballari, Congress candidate VS Ugrappa is leading by 2.14 lakh votes over BJP’s J Shantha after 15 rounds of counting.