Justice Ranjan Gogoi sworn in as Chief Justice of India

Justice Ranjan Gogoi on Wednesday was sworn in as the 46th Chief Justice of India. He has succeeded CJI Dipak Misra, who retired on October 1.

Justice Gogoi was administered oath of office by President Ram Nath Kovind at a function in the Rastrapathi Bhavan.

Gogoi is the first person from the North East to become the Chief Justice of India. He will have tenure of 13 months and would retire on November 17, 2019. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Cabinet ministers including External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj among others were present on the occasion.

Gogoi was among four most senior judges who called a press conference in January and criticised Justice Dipak Misra on various issues, especially the manner of allocation of cases to certain benches.

In February 2001, Gogoi became Permanent Judge of the Gauhati High Court. He was transferred to the Punjab and Haryana High Court in September 2010 and was appointed Chief Justice there in February 2011.

On April 23, 2012, Gogoi was elevated as the judge of the Supreme Court.