Jharkhand election results: JMM-Congress alliance set to form government in state

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) alliance on Monday crossed the majority mark in the 81 member Jharkhand assembly.

JMM won 30 seats, whereas Congress got 16 seats and RJD 1. Together they have comfortably crossed the required mark to form the government. The government will be formed under the leadership of Hemant Soren.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated JMM chief Hemant Soren on the victory of his party, he said, “Congratulations to @HemantSorenJMM Ji and the JMM-led alliance for the victory in the Jharkhand polls. Best wishes to them in serving the state.”

PM Modi also thanked the people of Jharkhand, he said “I thank the people of Jharkhand for having given @BJP4India the opportunity to serve the state for many years. I also applaud the hardworking Party Karyakartas for their efforts. We will continue serving the state and raising people-centric issues in the times to come.”

Meanwhile, BJP got 25 seats and AJSU only 2 seats.