Jharkhand Assembly polls: Voting begins for fifth and final phase

Voting for the fifth and final phase of Jharkhand assembly elections in 16 constituencies began at 7 am on Friday.

The fate of 237 candidates including 29 women will be decided in this final phase.

Over 40 lakh people will cast their votes today.

Polling will end at 3 pm in five constituencies of Borio, Barhait, Litipara, Maheshpur and Sikaripara and voting will continue till 5 pm in the rest of the constituencies.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in a tweet today urged voters to turn out in record numbers to vote in the final phase of the elections. 

The assembly elections which is spread over 5 phases began on November 30. The counting of votes is scheduled on December 23.