Jharkhand Assembly Polls: Counting of votes begins

The counting of votes for Jharkhand assembly polls began on Monday morning amid tight security.

The state went to polls starting November 30 and was spread across five phases with the last phase of polling held on December 20.

The approximate voter Turnout for all 81 ACs spread across all five phases of Jharkhand was 65.17%.

In phase 1, 13 assembly constituencies went to poll, while voting for 20 seats were done in the second phase. On December 12, the third phase of Jharkhand elections was held which saw polling in 17 seats and 15 assembly constituencies went to poll in phase 4 whereas the remaining 16 seats went to poll in the last and fifth phase on December 20.

The main political parties in the fray are BJP, Congress, JMM, RJD, AJSU, JVM-P.

BJP which won 37 seats in the last assembly poll in 2014 and did an alliance with AJSU, which won 5 seats to form the government, however, both of these parties broke ties and fought separately in these elections.

The tenure of the current assembly will end on 5th January 2020.