Jharkhand Assembly election: Voting begins in 17 constituencies

Voting began on Thursday for the third of the five-phase polling in 17 assembly constituencies of Jharkhand.

The voting began at 7 am, amidst a tight security arrangement.

Over 56 lakh voters are eligible to cast votes in the 17 constituencies across eight districts.

The fate of 309 candidates, including 32 women will be decided in the third phase of the elections.

Notable candidates in the fray are Urban Development Minister C P Singh and Education Minister Neera Yadav both from the BJP.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted today morning, urging voters to come out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.

“The third phase of Jharkhand polls will take place today. Urging all those whose seats go to the polls today to vote in large numbers. I particularly urge my young friends to vote,” PM Modi tweeted.

The fourth and the fifth phases polling will be held on December 16 and 20 respectively.

The assembly elections which is spread over 5 phases began on November 30 and will end on December 20. The counting of votes is scheduled on December 23.