Haryana Election result: BJP short of majority; JJP, others hold the key

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 40 seats in the 90-member Assembly in Haryana. The Congress won 31.

The Dushyant Chautala-led JJP and the Independents are expected to play an important role in the formation of government in Haryana as both the BJP and the Congress is short of the majority mark, which is 46.

The Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) has won 10 seats and others registered 9.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah today thanked the people of Haryana and Maharashtra for giving the party another opportunity to serve people.

PM Modi said his government will continue to work with the same zeal and dedication for the state’s progress. He also hailed the efforts of hardworking karyakartas of the state unit who toiled extensively and went among the people to elaborate on our development agenda.

Amit Shah said, The Manohar Lal Khattar government in Haryana has made every effort for people’s welfare under the central leadership of PM Modi.

“I thank people for making the BJP the single-largest party and giving it another opportunity to serve them,” Shah added.

Senior Congress leader and former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda said all non-BJP parties should come together and join hands.

He appealed to all non- BJP parties to come together to honor this anti- BJP mandate and form an alternative government.