DUSU elections results 2018: ABVP wins 3 posts, NSUI gets 1

The Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections results have been announced in which RSS’s Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) won three posts, including that of President whereas National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) managed to get one post.


The ABVP won the posts of president, vice president and joint secretary while NSUI secured secretary post.

ABVP’s Ankit Baisoya defeated NSUI’s Sunny Chhillar in the presidential election with a margin of 1744 votes.

Baisoya was polled 20,467 votes when NSUI’s Chillar came runner up with 18,723 votes.

ABVP candidate Baisoya said, “Our election manifesto said we would dedicate 50 per cent of the DUSU budget to women safety, so I will now work towards making the campus safer for women.”

He further said, “Our party has worked for the welfare of students and we will continue to do so.”

ABVP’s Shakti Singh was declared as the vice president after he won with a margin of 7673 votes.

Singh was elected with 23,046 votes while Leena of NSUI was polled 15,000.

ABVP’s Jyoti Choudhary registered a win on the post of Joint Secretary with 19,353 votes.

NSUI candidate Akash Choudhary, bagged 20,198 votes and won the post of secretary of the students union.

Following the announcement of the results Baisoya reportedly said, “I want to thank the workers of ABVP who have worked on the ground throughout the year. More than half of DUSU budget will be spent on Women and SC/ST students. Our priorities also include 24×7 libraries, metro concession passes among others.”