Bihar: Nitish Kumar elected as leader of NDA legislature party, set to become CM for 4th straight term

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) unanimously elected Janata Dal-United chief Nitish Kumar as the leader of its legislature party in Bihar on Sunday. 

The formal announcement came after a meeting which was attended by senior NDA leaders in Patna.

Nitish Kumar is likely to take oath on November 16 at Governor’s House in Patna. This will be the Nitish’s fourth straight term as the Chief Minister of Bihar.

NDA got 125 of Bihar’s 243 assembly seats.

The BJP won 74 seats while JD(U) won 43 in recently concluded assembly elections.

The top leadership of the BJP, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has emphatically endorsed Nitish Kumar as the next chief minister.

The RJD, led by Tejashwi Yadav, emerged as the single-largest party with 75 seats. The opposition alliance won 110 seats.