Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha sworn in as Chief Information Commissioner

Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha was on Saturday sworn in as the Chief Information Commissioner (CIC), according to a Rashtrapati Bhavan statement.

President Ram Nath Kovind has administered the oath of office to Sinha as the Chief Information Commissioner in the Central Information Commission at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the statement said.

According to the sources, the post had been lying vacant Since August 2020, after Bimal Julka completed his term.

Sinha, a former diplomat, joined as the Information Commissioner on January 1, 2019. Sinha, who has also served as India’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom, will have a three-year tenure as Chief Information Commissioner (CIC).

Sinha, aged 62, was short-listed for the post by a three-member committee headed by PM Modi.