Voting underway in 51 seats in 5th phase of Lok Sabha polls

Voting began on Monday across 51 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over seven states in the fifth phase of polling.

A total electorate of over 8.75 crore will decide the fate of 674 candidates, including Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi and Union Minister Smriti Irani.

Over 96,000 polling booths in place for smooth conduct of polls.

Voting is being held in 12 seats in Rajasthan, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, seven seats each in West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh, five in Bihar and four in Jharkhand.

In Jammu and Kashmir, voting is taking place in Ladakh constituency, Pulwama and Shopian districts of Anantnag seat.

With the fifth phase, voting will be completed in all seats of Jammu and Kashmir and Rajasthan 

The seven-phase Lok Sabha elections began on April 11 and would conclude on May 19 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.