Third phase of UP panchayat election begins

The voting for the third phase of the panchayat elections in Uttar Pradesh has been started on Monday. More than 2.72 lakh candidates in the fight over 2.14 lakh seats, across 20 districts of the state.
“Voting started at 7 am on a peaceful note. It will continue till 6 pm,” a State Election Commission (SEC) official said here.

Voting is underway in Shamli, Meerut, Moradabad, Pilibhit, Kasganj, Firozabad, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Jalaun, Hamirpur, Fatehpur, Unnao, Amethi, Barabanki, Balrampur, Siddharthanagar, Deoria, Chandauli, Mirzapur and Ballia.

The Allahabad High Court had asked the Uttar Pradesh government to accomplish the panchayat election process by May 25.

The voting of the fourth phase will be held on April 29 and counting will be held on May 2.