Thawarchand Gehlot is new Karnataka governor, eight states get  new governors

Ahead major reshuffle in Narendra Modi’s cabinet, Thawarchand Gehlot, 83, has been appointed as a Governor of Karnataka. He was Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment and also the BJP’s Rajya Sabha leader.

Eight states have new Governors including PS Sreedharan Pillai, the Governor of Mizoram, has been moved to Goa.

Bandaru Dattatraya, the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, will take over as Governor of Haryana.

Satyadev Narayan Arya, Haryana Governor, will shift to Tripura. Tripura Governor Ramesh Bais has been transferred to Jharkhand.

Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar has been named Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

Hari Babu Kambhampati will be Mizoram Governor.

Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel will be Governor of Madhya Pradesh.

Modi will be holding a crucial meeting of top BJP leaders on Tuesday evening, during which contours of the new Council of Ministers is likely to be discussed.