Sourav Ganguly takes over as 39th BCCI president

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly on Wednesday took charge as the 39th president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

BCCI in a tweet said, “It’s official – @SGanguly99 formally elected as the President of BCCI.”

Jay Shah, son of Union Home Minister Amit Shah took over as the new secretary of the board while Arun Dhumal took office as new treasurer.

Dhumal is the younger brother of Former BCCI president Anurag Thakur.

Ganguly, who is currently the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president will have to demit office in 2020 as he will have to go into a compulsory cooling off period.