Six-member Trinamool Congress delegation detained at Silchar airport in Assam

A six-member Trinamool Congress delegation was detained by Assam police at Silchar Airport on Thursday. The delegation comprises six MPs and one MLA arrived in Assam to attend a public convention on the National Register of Citizens (NRC) final draft.

TMC MPs Sukhendu Sekhar Ray, Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Ratna De Nag, Nadimul Haque, Arpita Ghosh, Mamata Thakur and MLA Mohua Moitra, was led by West Bengal Minister Firhad Hakim, landed at Silchar airport on Thursday afternoon. They were detained and not allowed to exit the airport. 

The delegation was scheduled to attend a public convention organised by the local citizens forum in Silchar.

According to TMC MPs, “They were beaten up and not allowed to exit the Airport”.

BJP’s Bengal unit president Dilip Ghosh blamed TMC members for the incident. He said, “They have no business going to Assam”

BJP national secretary Rahul Sinha said, “If they try to create unrest in Assam, the management will take action. They should be forced out of the state.”

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal on Wednesday advised people not to harbour any trepidations about the updation process of the NRC. He also said, “He will not accept the provocation statements about NRC from the outsiders”.