SC upholds disqualification of 17 Karnataka MLAs but allows them to contest upcoming bypolls

The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld disqualification of 17 rebel Karnataka MLAs.

However, the top court has cancelled the then Assembly Speaker’ KR Ramesh Kumar’s decision to bar the rebel MLAs from contesting polls till 2023.

The Court ruled that the MLAs will be able to contest December 5 bypolls.

The top court had on October 25 reserved its verdict on the petitions filed by these disqualified MLAs.

Kumar had disqualified these 17 MLAs belonging to the Congress (14) and the Janata Dal-Secular (3) ahead of a trust vote in July.

The then chief minister HD Kumaraswamy had resigned after losing the trust vote, which cemented the way for the BJP-led government in the state under BS Yediyurappa.

The verdict was delivered by three-judge bench of Justices NV Ramana, Sanjiv Khanna and Krishna Murari.