Rajasthan polls: Congress releases first list of 152 candidates

The Congress announced its first list of 152 candidates for the December 7 Assembly elections in Rajasthan.

Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot will contest from Sardarpura constituency in Jodhpur while Rajasthan Congress sate unit president Sachin Pilot will contest from Tonk.

The announcement came on late Thursday night after a meeting of the Congress Central Election Committee.

Pilot, who is a former MP from Dausa and Ajmer, will be contesting the Assembly polls for the first time.

Senior Congress leader CP Joshi will be fighting the elections from Nathdwara, while former BJP MP Harish Meena, who recently joined the Congress party will be contesting from Deoli-Uniara constituency.

Former BJP MLA Habibur Rahaman, who also joined the Congress  after being denied a ticket, will fight the elections from Nagaur .

The much-anticipated Congress list came four days after the BJP announced its first list of 131 candidates.