Rajasthan: 40 IAS officers transferred

In the first bureaucratic reshuffle, the Congress government of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Tuesday ordered the transfer of 40 IAS officers.

This came a day after Gehlot took oath as the Chief Minister, replacing the government of Vasundhara Raje.

According to a release, Kuldeep Ranka has been appointed as principal secretary to the chief minister who was serving as principal secretary, tourism and forest.

Ranka replaces Tanmay Kumar, who has been appointed as commissioner irrigation command area development in Bikaner, it said. Ranka will also serve as the chairman of RIICO.

Meanwhile, Ajitabh Sharma and Rajan Vishal has been appointed as the new secretary and joint secretary to the chief minister.

The release said among other top IAS officers, additional chief secretary, excise and taxation, Mukesh Sharma, has been appointed as chairman of the Revenue Board in Ajmer and additional chief secretary Rajeeva Swarup, who headed the industries department, has been made in-charge of the home department.

Sudarshan Sethi will now be additional chief secretary forest and environment and mines while Giriraj Singh has been appointed as chairman of the Rajasthan Civil Services Appellate Tribunal, Veenu Gupta has been shifted from the health and family department to serve as additional chief secretary, PWD and chairman of the Rajasthan State Road Development Corporation.

Dr Subodh Agarwal will now be additional chief secretary industries and DMIC, it said.