Punjab bypolls result: Congress wins 3 seats, SAD 1

The Congress won three Assembly seats, while Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won one in the Punjab bypolls.

The Congress won Phagwara, Mukerian and Jalalabad seats and the opposition SAD got Dakha seat.

Congress candidate Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal defeated BJPs Rajesh Bagha by a margin of 26,116 votes in Phagwara.

SAD’s Manpreet Singh Ayali defeated Sandeep Singh Sandhu of Congress by a margin of 14,672 votes in Dakha.

Congress’s Raminder Singh Awla and Indu Bala won from Jalalabad and Mukerian seats.

Awla beat SAD’s Raj Singh with a margin of 16633 votes and Bala defeated BJP’s Jangi Lal Mahajan with a margin of 3440 votes.

The voting took place on October 21 for the four Assembly constituencies and the counting of votes began today at 8 am.