President Ram Nath Kovind dismisses plea to disqualify 27 AAP MLAs

President Ram Nath Kovind has dismissed a plea to disqualify 27 ruling Aam Admi Party (AAP) MLAs of Delhi for allegedly holding office of profit by being appointed as presidents of Rogi Kalyan Samiti.

The order, which is based on the recommendation of the Election Commission (EC), brings huge relief for AAP legislators.

Kovind signed the order dismissing the plea based on an opinion given by the EC in July.

According to reports, the EC had found no merit in the plea.

In a complaint filed by Vidyarthi Vibhor Anand, it was alleged that AAP MLAs were made the presidents and were holding the senior most position in the Rogi Kalyan Samiti to enjoy the office of profit.

The complaint had sought that the AAP MLAs be removed and should be disqualified from the assembly.