President Ram Nath Kovind confers Padma Awards

President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday presented Padma Awards at 2019 Civil Investiture Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Kovind conferred the Padma awards on 56 of this year’s 112 recipients.

Padma awards 2019- list of awardees

Viswanathan Mohanlal for Art. A renowned film actor from Kerala, Mohanlal has acted in about 350 films, in a career spanning 40 years.

Karia Munda for Public Affairs. A veteran politician and the former Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha, he is a popular public figure in Jharkhand.

Kuldip Nayar (Posthumous) for Literature & Education (Journalism). He was a long-time editor, popular columnist and civil liberties activist.

Hukumdev Narayan Yadav for Public Affairs. A popular public figure and a renowned Parliamentarian, he is currently representing Madhubani constituency of Bihar.

Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa for Public Affairs. He is a veteran political leader who has served the people of Punjab and the nation in many capacities. He is currently a MP (Rajya Sabha) from Punjab.

Sharath Kamal Achanta for Sports. A renowned name in table tennis, he has won over 60 international medals in the past 16 years.

Bangaru Adigalar for Spiritualism. The Adhiparasakthi Charitable Trust, established by Shri Adigalar in Tamil Nadu, runs several educational and medical institutions.

Prof Dr Ilias Ali for Medicine. A public health specialist, he has spread awareness about family planning and popularised different means of birth control.

Prof Dilip Kumar Chakrabarti for Archaeology. He is Professor of South Asian Archaeology at Cambridge University and a distinguished fellow of Vivekananda International Foundation.

Dr Mammen Chandy for Medicine. He is the Director of the Tata Medical Centre in Kolkata, one of the leading cancer hospitals in India. Dr Chandy is widely recognised for his contribution to developing clinical haematology services in India.

Muktaben Pankajkumar Dagli for Social Work. She is the founder and Secretary of Pragnachakshu Mahila Seva Kunj, Surendranagar. She founded the Institution for Blind women in 1996.

Babulal Dahiya for Agriculture. A farmer from Madhya Pradesh, Shri Dahiya has worked for protection and promotion of traditional breeds of paddy, wheat, vegetables and grains.

Prabhu Deva for Art. A choreographer, film director, producer and actor, he has worked in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi, Malayalam and Kannada films. In a career spanning 25 years, he has performed and designed a wide range of dancing styles.

Bhagirathi Devi for Public Affairs. A social worker and a MLA from Shikarpur (Bihar), she has been working for girls education and for uplift of underprivileged women.

Dr Baldev Singh Dhillon for Science & Engineering. Vice Chancellor of Punjab Agricultural University, Dr Dhillon is a scientist and administrator who has provided leadership in developing technologies for sustainable agriculture.

Harika Dronavalli for Sports. She is among the world’s top-ranked chess players and has led Indian women squads to several chess championships.

Prof Sandeep Guleria for Medicine. He is a transplant surgeon at the Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi, and leads one of the busiest renal transplant programmes in the world.

Dr Pratap Singh Hardia for Medicine. He was the first to start radial keratotomy in India. He has conducted thousands of free eye surgeries in eye camps. He has performed 650,000 surgeries till date, which is a Guinness Book record.

Bulu Imam for Social Work. He is an environmentalist working for the protection of tribal art and cultural heritage in Jharkhand.

Dr S. Jaishankar for Civil Service. A retired officer of the IFS and former foreign secretary, Dr Jaishankar is widely regarded for his contributions to Indian diplomacy and leading role in restructuring India’s global conversations.

Kadamputharamadom Gopalan Thanthri Jayan for Art. He is an exponent of Carnatic music, especially in composing and rendering devotional songs.

Above dignitaries were among the people who were given the Padma awards.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and several other ministers were also present at the event.